Skip to content
155 Water Street, Suite 6-7
Brooklyn, NY 11201
United States
Ms. Sheryl Jaeger
Association Phone
+1 212 944 8291
Association Contact Fax
+1 212 944 8293
President Email
President Address
47 Lakeview Heights
Tolland, CT 06084

The ABAA was created on May 29, 1949. The mission of the ABAA is to promote ethical standards and professionalism in the book trade, to encourage the collecting and preservation of antiquarian books and related materials, to support educational programs and research into the study of antiquarian books, and to facilitate collegial relations between booksellers, librarians, scholars, and collectors.

The ABAA has the strictest and most sweeping Ethics Code in the book trade, and all ABAA members are bound by it. The Ethics Code requires that all material offered for sale be authentic, be accurately described, and that a full cash refund, or other mutually agreeable settlement, be available to any purchaser for any item that is not authentic or not accurately described.

Membership is open to antiquarian booksellers of good character, reputation and credit rating who have been in business for four continuous years and require sponsorship of four current members of ABAA and three secondary sponsors.

Each year the ABAA sponsors book fairs in New York, Boston, and California (San Francisco and Los Angeles).

Officers, Governors and Staff

Sheryl Jaeger, President
Alexander Akin, Vice-President
Elizabeth Young, Secretary
Peter Blackman, Treasurer
Scott DeWolfe
James Goldwasser
Ed Hoffman
John Knott
Joyce Kosofsky
Ken Mallory
Andy Nettell
Phil Pirages
Sunday Steinkirchner
Laurelle Swan

Brad Johnson, Benevolent and Woodburn Fund Trustee

Class of 2023

Andy Nettell (At-Large)

Class of 2024

Joyce Kosofsky (At-Large)
Ed Hoffman (Midwest Chapter)
Scott DeWolfe (New England)
James Goldwasser (Southern California)
Phil Pirages (Pacific Northwest)

Class of 2025

John Knott (At-Large)
Ken Mallory (Southeast)

Class of 2026

Sunday Steinkirchner (Middle Atlantic Chapter)
Laurelle Swan (Northern California)


Susan Benne, Executive Director

Eloisa Amezcua, Associate Director

Valentine Pratt, Operations and Cultural Liaison

Antiquarian Booksellers' Association of America - Most recent News