Skip to content
PO Box 7009
Doncaster East
VIC 3109
Dawn Albinger
Association Phone
+61 (0) 410 520 100
President Email
President Address
40 Charlotte St.
Brisbane 4000

The Australian and New Zealand Association of Antiquarian Booksellers (ANZAAB) was founded in 1977 and has been a member association of ILAB since 1978.

ANZAAB aims to promote antiquarian bookselling and collecting. Like many national associations it sets out standards of commercial behaviour to which its members voluntarily adhere. ANZAAB encourages the observance of the courtesies and honourable practices traditionally associated with the trade, and in particular seeks to encourage booksellers to achieve high standards of accuracy in descriptions of materials offered for sale.

Membership is open to booksellers from Australia and New Zealand and from countries where no ILAB-affiliated association exists and who have, for a certain number of years, been engaged full-time in buying and selling valuable and significant books and/or related material, and who are recognised for their expertise and good name.

ANZAAB organizes book fairs in the major Australian cities Melbourne and Sydney.

From 2000 to 2002, ANZAAB member Kay Craddock was the first female president in the history of ILAB. At the Delaware Presidents Meeting 2006, she was unanimously elected ILAB President of Honour, a designation awarded to those who have provided service to the League beyond that of the normal course of their duties. Paul Feain was a long-time member of the ILAB Committee, serving as General Secretary and Treasurer.

Australians continue to be active in the international antiquarian book world. ANZAAB bookseller Sally Burdon joined the ILAB Committee in 2014, was elected Vice-President in 2016, and at the ILAB Presidents' Meeting in Pasadena in 2018 as President of ILAB, a role she held for four years. Ms. Burdon now serves as ILAB General Secretary.

Book Fairs

The Melbourne Rare Book Fair is held annually; for details, please see:

Rare book fairs are also held annually in Sydney; please see details at

Annual Meeting

July (at the time of the ANZAAB Melbourne Rare Book Fair)


Dawn Albinger, President
Tim White, Vice-President
Dafydd Davies, Secretary
Sue Treloar, Treasurer
Douglas Stewart, Board Member
Yarran Jenkins, Board Member
Tom Baker-Stimson, Board Member

Life Members

Susan Tompkins

Honorary Members

Paul Brunton
Wallace Kirsop
Des Cowley
Richard Overell
Jerelynn Brown

ILAB Patrons of Honour

David Malouf

The Australian and New Zealand Association of Antiquarian Booksellers - Most recent News