Skip to content

News & Updates

ILAB Breslauer Prize 2018

ILAB is calling for submissions for the 2017 prize to be awarded in London in May 2018, inviting publishers, librarians, collectors, antiquarian booksellers and all bibliophiles!
ILAB logo gold

The ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography, worth 10.000 $, is one of the most prestigious prizes in the field of bibliography. Every fourth year it detects and awards a particularly significant reference work within a selection of scholarly books about books published in the previous years.

The 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography will be awarded in 2018 to one or more books published in any language and in any part of the world between April 2013 and April 2017. Any work submitted to the Prize must be a published book available on the market. The prize jury will admit all publications relating to bibliography in a very broad sense (textual bibliography, history of the book, bookbinding, papermaking, type-founding, library catalogues, short-title catalogues of a single author or typographer, etc.). The jury will not take into consideration ebooks and catalogues of books intended for sale and translations of previously published works. Submissions for the 2018 Prize are now closed.

Jury for the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography:

Bettina Wagner – State Library, Bamberg (Germany)
Daniel de Simone – Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington DC (United States)
Yann Sordet – Bibliothèque Mazarine, Paris (France)Winfried Kuhn - Antiquariat Winfried Kuhn, Berlin (Germany)
Justin Croft – Justin Croft Antiquarian Books, Faversham (United Kingdom), and
Fabrizio Govi – Libreria Alberto Govi, Modena (Italy)

Fabrizio Govi serves as the new Prize Secretary. He follows Arnoud Gerits who oversaw the 15th and 16th ILAB Breslauer Prize in the years 2010 and 2014.

In order to gather as many recently published editions in this field as possible, the jury invites publishers, librarians, collectors, antiquarian booksellers and all bibliophiles, whenever they might come over a significant reference work for the Prize, to contact the Prize Secretary:

Fabrizio Govi
Secretary, ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography
Libreria Alberto Govi
Via Bononcini, 24
41124 Modena (Italia)
Tel: +39 059 373629 - email


The 16th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography was officially presented to Jon Gilbert for his superb and outstanding work "IAN FLEMING. THE BIBLIOGRAPHY" (Preface by Fergus Fleming. Foreword by Michael L. Vanblaricum. Edited by Brad Frank. London, Queen Anne Press, 2012).