Skip to main content

Associação Brasileira de Liveiros Antiquarios

Rua Honorio de Barros, 58/ 502
22250-120 – Rio de Janeiro
  • Patrick Levy
  • Susan Bach Ltda
    Rua Visconde de Caravelas, 17, Botafogo
    22271-030 Rio De Janeiro
    Tel: +55 (21) 2539 3590
    Fax: 55 (21) 2527 6940

Eight rare booksellers from Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo belong to the Associação Brasileira de Liveiros Antiquários (ABLA), whose president is Ana Maria Bocayuva de Miranda Jordão. The ABLA was established in 1945 by Walter Geyerhahn, his brother Stefan Geyerhahn and Erich Eichner.  They were all Austrians, naturalized Brazilians and proprietors of the influential "Livraria Editora KOSMOS", located in Rio de Janeiro since 1935. Among the dozens of important 19th century works re-edited by Livraria Kosmos and many of 20th century works edited, was the highly acclaimed "Bibliografia Brasiliana", which was written by Rubem Borba de Moraes and published in association with "Editora Colibris", Amsterdam.  

The Brazilian Association joined the League in 1954. All ABLA booksellers strictly adhere to the ILAB Code of Ethics. Their motto is: Competence, Reliability, and Tradition. The founder of the ABLA, Walter Geyerhahn, was president until his death in 1990. Patrick Levy, a partner of the 53 year-old "Livraria Susan Bach", succeeded him until 1994, when Ana Maria Bocayuva de Miranda Jordão of Sebo Fino Livraria Antiquaria assumed the presidency. Sebo Fino was founded in 1980 and is headquartered in Petrópolis, Rio de Janeiro.


Ana Maria Bocayuva de Miranda Jordão


Ana Maria Bocayuva de Miranda Jordão, President
Patrick Lévy, Vice-President
Pedro Antonio P. de Mesquita, Director/Treasurer
Margarete Cardoso
José Luis Garaldi

Annual Meeting


  • share