Skip to main content
Article |
| Bibliography

17th ILAB Breslauer Prize to be awarded in 2018 - submit titles now!

The ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography will be awarded again in 2018 and is one of the most prestigious prizes in the field of bibliography.The final deadline to submit titles for the 2018 ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography is approaching. Please submit titles by the end of April 2017 to the Prize Secretary, Fabrizio Govi.
Published on 28 March 2017

A prize with tradition and a strong support for scholarship: The Breslauer Prize for Bibliography, awarded by the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers, ILAB, worth US$10.000, is one of the most important prizes in the field of bibliography. Every fourth year it detects and awards a particularly significant reference work within a selection of scholarly books about books. Famous scholars like Jean Peeters-Fontainas, I. C. Koeman and Anthony Hobson belong to the prize winners alongside Lotte Hellinga and Jan Storm van Leeuwen who were honoured with the 15th Prize in September 2010 and Jon Gilbert who received the 16th Prize in 2014 for his superb study "Ian Fleming. The Bibliography". These are shining examples for the enormous amount of knowledge - and work - which stands behind such brilliant studies in a scientific field that is essential for every kind of academic research, and for the rare book trade. The 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography will be awarded in 2018 to one or more books published in any language and in any part of the world between April 2013 and April 2017. Any work submitted to the Prize must be a published book available on the market.

The prize jury - consisting of Bettina Wagner (Bavarian State Library, Munich), Daniel de Simone (Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington DC), Yann Sordet (Bibliothèque Mazarine, Paris) and the antiquarian booksellers Fabrizio Govi (Italy), Konrad Meuschel (Germany) and Justin Croft (United Kingdom) - will admit all publications relating to bibliography in a very broad sense: textual bibliography, history of the book, bookbinding, papermaking, type-founding, library catalogues, short-title catalogues of a single author or typographer, etc. The jury will not take into consideration ebooks and catalogues of books intended for sale and translations of previously published works.

Writers, publishers, librarians, journalists, scholars, antiquarian booksellers, book collectors and all who are interested in bibliography and the history of the book are invited to submit books to the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography!

The final deadline to submit titles for the 2018 ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography is approaching. Please submit titles by the end of April 2017 to the Prize Secretary, Fabrizio Govi.

Please contact:

Fabrizio Govi, Secretary ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography
Libreria Alberto Govi - Via Bononcini, 24 - 41124 Modena (Italia) - Phone +39 059 373629 Email:

Below we present two of the recent submissions:

Erdmann, Axel, Alberto Govi & Fabrizio Govi:
Communication in Sixteenth Century Western Europe: Epistolaries, Letter-writing Manuals and Model Letter Books 1501-1600, with an Introduction by Judith Rice Henderson, Gilhofer und Ranschburg, 2014

The volume is divided into two parts:
The first part contains descriptions of a collection of 171 works printed between 1501 and 1600 and has three sections: a) Letter collections by single authors and anthologies; b) Letter-writing manuals; c) Model letter collections, fictitious letter collections and some letter collections by 15th century authors (mostly schoolbook editions printed in the 16th century). This section, in which are listed over 30’000 letters, has at the end a full index of authors, editors, senders, recipients, places, and names.

The second (bibliographical) part contains finding lists of all epistolaries and letter writing manuals published in the 16th century, as well as a comprehensive, up-to-date list of secondary sources also with a detailed index.

Another submission to the prize:

Chris Loker and Jill Shefrin: One Hundred Books Famous in Children’s Literature

New York: The Grolier Club, 2015.

This is the catalogue of the exhibition held at the Grolier Club, New York, from December 10, 2014 through February 7, 2015. Issued in 1,000 hardcover copies, it presents, with detailed bibliographical descriptions, 100 famous children’s books, printed in the last 400 years, from 1600 to 2000. The selection was made by the curator, children’s book authority Chris Loker, with advice from an international team of children’s book scholars and experts, and includes: Robinson Crusoe, Grimm’s Fairy Tales, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Tom Sawyer, Treasure Island, Peter Rabbit, The Wizard of Oz, Peter Pan, Winnie-the-Pooh, Charlotte’s Web, The Cat in the Hat, Where the Wild Things Are, and Harry Potter.

For all information about the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography, please visit the Prize's website.

  • share